Greendimed

After coming home to mountains upon mountains of catalogs, I decided it was time to take action. I have to honestly say that part of me was sad to cancel catalogs from such companies as Crate & Barrel, Chiasso, West Elm and CB2 (my favorites), but my feelings don’t justify the waste I’m producing by taking in these publications. And, I can always peruse the internet if I need to satisfy my window-shopping urge.

To handle the task of managing my junk mail and catalogs, I turned to GreenDimes. Not only do they monitor your junk mail, but they also plant trees 5 trees on your behalf. Yes, it costs more than the average junk mail monitoring program ($20), but to eliminate junk mail and plant trees – it’s worth it. Plus, it’s super easy to keep track of your account online.

So far I haven’t noticed much of a difference, but they warn you ahead of time that it’s going to take a while for your cancellations to start kicking in.

Here’s a sidenote: Victoria’s Secret does not cooperate with junk mail monitoring programs. You actually have to call them on their normal customer service phone line to cancel your catalog subscription. Which can really suck if they are particularly busy with orders. Bad form, Victoria’s.

Leave a Reply

