Have yourself a green little Christmas

Regretfully I was unable to purchase new LED lights for the house this year, as my current ones are working just fine. Darn. I was kind of hoping for a couple of the strings to be out. However, I’m trying to implement other green practices into my holiday preparations, such as recycled wrapping paper. Unfortunately this has been no easy feat – recycled wrapping paper is not easy to find, particularly on a local basis. Thankfully I found Paporganics.com and FishLipsPaperDesigns.com – both of which carry recycled wrapping paper and acoutrements (ribbons, tissue paper, etc.). Paporganics carries recycled hemp paper that’s dyed with all-natural dyes. Their ribbon is also made of hemp, and comes in an array of colors. Fish Lips carries the most FANTASTIC wrapping paper – all made from 100% post-consumer recycled paper and is printed with natural dyes. I was really excited to get this stuff – the designs are really cool and the paper looks and feels like normal wrapping paper.

Now, I have to say that I could’ve done better and gone a step further, and purchased scrap fabric from a local craft store. That way I could re-use the same fabric every year. But, I am somewhat of a paper fiend, being a graphic designer and all, so naturally the idea of fabric didn’t appeal to me. That, and I also discovered that Denver Recycles does not accept wrapping paper in its bins. Lame.

Other things I’m lacking in: recycled garment boxes (I found a place that does sell these, however they’re only selling them in batches of hundreds, so I’m kind of screwed there, especially since none of my friends were interested in purchasing a ton of boxes – can’t blame them). Also, I’ve been bad about turning our Christmas lights off when we’re out – there’s something nice about coming home to a lighted, festive house during the holidays. Clearly, I need to rethink some priorities.

In better news, I’ve included a “Green Holiday” tips list in the upcoming “Wishlist,” published Sundays in the paper. This is a cool thing – I’m hoping folks will take heed to the fact that Denver won’t recycle certain items (wrapping paper) but will recycle others (junk mail, magazines, boxes, newspaper, etc.).

Anywho, hope you all have a very Merry Christmas, and if at all possible, try to implement some green practices into your holiday traditions.

Leave a Reply

