Green Living vs. Convenience, ie., Lipstick at Lunch

First of all, please forgive my not posting in such a long time. I’ve been pretty slammed with work and freelance, but also, I admit that I’ve been a little discouraged lately with my green interests – primarily due to the previous post, dealing with the inefficiency of biodegrading in the U.S. But, I guess I just need to suck it up and keep trying to make a difference however I can!

Which brings me to my next topic: makeup. Yes, makeup. At lunch today, I had time to run a few errands – one of which involved buying new makeup. You know, foundation, lipstick, mascara. Anyway, on the shuttle bus down the mall, I pondered the question, “Where can I buy environmentally-friendly makeup?”, meaning, makeup that has been produced by a green-operating company. And, of course, the internet popped into my head first. Which is great, don’t get me wrong. But, I needed the makeup today, not in a week. And therein lies the main problem with green-living: the lack of convenience.

When you need it now, chances are, you’re going to buy non-green products. Which sucks. Because I’m a human being and can’t plan every hour of my existence. Thinking about this fact makes me mad – Why can’t green items start making appearances on the shelves of such places as Rite Aid, Walgreens, or even 7-11? (I know Burt’s Bees is available at Walgreens, which is a start) Why the heck can’t green be convenient?

I realize that this is the whole push behind the movement. Making green choices easier for the average Joe. Unfortunately we have a ways to go – which means, to you and I – Joe green-consumers – have to make an extra effort to make better choices. Which are 90% of the time, not always convenient.

So what did I do at lunch? I gave in and bought Revlon. Next time, however, I plan on planning more ahead and either ordering online or making a trip to Whole Foods.

Leave a Reply

