Rinse, later, repeat

Since my shampoo and conditioner finally ran out the other day, I was able to meet another goal and green my hair products. I went to the newly-opened Sunflower Market near our house, on 38th and Wolff. Man, am I so freaking happy that place finally opened. No more driving across town to Whole Foods.

Anyway, I parused the surprisingly large hair product aisle and found “Kiss My Face” shampoo and conditioner, both 100% biodegradable. The clerk helping me said that Kiss My Face is a great product line, so I’m less nervous about having the usual organic weighed down hair look. And so far it’s worked great. I’m pretty sure this product line is available at most Natural/Organic markets.

One thing I realized is that even if a product is 100% organic, it doesn’t neccessarily mean that it’s biodegradable. It’s best to find a product that clearly states it’s biodegradable, that way you know for sure.

While I was shopping I also picked up some environmentally-friendly (ok, I’m tired of typing that all the time – from now on it’s EF!) shampoo for my dog, Baxter. Not sure if it’s biodegradable – didn’t specifically say – but at least all the ingredients are organic.

One more thing – I finally got to use my reusable grocery bags this weekend. They’re great, but they’re also HUGE, which makes for an interesting experience for the bagger at the register. An added bonus – they gave me a discount at the register for using the bags! (This was at Sunflower Market) It felt really good to put away all of our groceries and not have any plastic bags to throw away.

Leave a Reply

